unclean, a libertine

The World According to Ivana Stab

Cool enough to not quite see it

with 3 comments

  

Today I kept my sister company at the hairdressers’. There was a big language barrier so communication was difficult. The hairdresser was so adorable that my sister didn’t have the heart to tell her she was doing her hair all wrong. My 23-year-old sister ended up looking like she was going to her year twelve formal. It was hilarious. I had to stop myself from laughing by looking at magazines but they were just as funny. They must have been published in the early 90s. But I did find two interesting hairstyles (the first two photos – the girls with long, strange hair) and the dude with the curls looked pimp!

 

…also, I kind of miss getting my hair cut professionally.

 

On the way home there were three girls catching our bus who looked about 14 or 15. They were chain-smoking with a tiny baby in tow (which looked malnourished and miserable), playing music loudly on their phones on the bus. When we got off, one of them turned around and stared at us from the window until the bus went around a corner. I’m not sure exactly what we did to make her stare at us like that, but it made me uncomfortable. It also made me think that some people should be sterilised.      

 

I hate being broke.

 

Songs I just remembered liking:

The White Stripes – Conquest

The Academy Is… – Mayonaise (Smashing Pumpkins cover)

TV on the Radio – Wolf Like Me

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. these hairstyles are embarrassing.

    (social darwinism = win. haha)

    ANNIE LY

    November 7, 2008 at 8:51 am

  2. Don’t be dissin da hairstylez
    (all the models had REALLY BAD teeth; it was awful)

    I think one of the girls was one of the W. family that lived near the school…

    Ivana Stab

    November 7, 2008 at 9:21 am

  3. how unfortunate.

    bad teeth is fail.

    ANNIE LY

    November 7, 2008 at 9:25 am


Leave a Reply

