unclean, a libertine

The World According to Ivana Stab

This music is the glue of the world, Mark. It’s what holds it all together. Without this, life would be meaningless.

with 2 comments

 

 

The weather people told me yesterday would be twenty-three with rain. Lies! I almost died of heat exhaustion. Still, that was probably better than rain during the Newtown Festival which happened yesterday. It was good but not as good as the last couple of years. I’m not sure why. The stalls were pretty much the same and the music was good (except the awful skip-hop that hurt my ears) and the crowds were as impossible to move through as always. I think maybe it was the police presence. Fascists on every corner. The police have this impressive ability to instil fear in me when I’m doing absolutely nothing illegal. I was also in a bad mood for no apparent reason. I need to control my angst. Maybe it was the sugar comedown from eating nothing all day but a bag of fairy-floss and a slurpee? (A public apology to Annie, Zig & Kylar for my moodiness.)

 

The Wahas played a great set at the Essential Stage. They played a few new songs which sounded really, really good & the ending to “Cheap Stuff” is always so impressive to watch. Every time I see them play I get even more excited about Sydney music. I don’t want to spend my life chasing after things that have already happened. You know, The Doors and friends, Hole and friends, The Libertines and friends, etc. Those bands were amazing and I love them to bits, but I don’t want to only dream about how wonderful it would have been to experience that from its beginnings and to be a part of it. And that’s why the Sydney music scene is so exciting to me; because I CAN be a part of it and because the music is really fucking good! (I’m going to be writing about my favourite Sydney bands in instalments soon, so stay tuned!)

 

The Wahas are playing their first headlining show this Friday (14th November) at the Hopetoun with two other great Sydney bands – The Vignettes and Chaingang. It’s their End of HSC celebration show as well! TEETH interviewed Joel from The Vignettes a while ago and you can read the interview here. (We also did an interview with The Wahas which can be read here.) Anyway, it’s only $10 and it will be a great show so you & all your friends should go! And get there early so you don’t miss The Vignettes who will be playing first!

 

I’m currently listening to the Empire Records soundtrack and wishing my DVD was back in my hands. I don’t even know who has it anymore. The last I saw of it was the case at Nenad’s place but no disc inside! “In the immortal words of The Doors…the time to hesitate is through!”

 

  

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for coming and promoting the show etc!
    Also, where can I get my hands on a TEETH bag?
    x

    Cass

    November 10, 2008 at 1:02 pm

  2. Ask Annie to make you one! My handwriting is illegible so she’s in charge of bag-making, etc. 🙂

    Ivana Stab

    November 10, 2008 at 1:15 pm


Leave a Reply

