unclean, a libertine

The World According to Ivana Stab

If you have come looking for love, you have come to the wrong fucking place man.

with 2 comments

I’d been relatively inactive for the last few days that yesterday made me exhausted. I didn’t sleep much, then I got up early (at 10…) and made my way to the city. Met up with Kylar at Kinko’s and got rid of almost $20 worth of 5c, 10c and 20c coins. I didn’t realise until we were putting all the coins into the machine that it would have been so much easier if I’d taken the coins to the bank and exchanged them for a note. But anyway. I made FIFTY copies of Feels Like Friday #8 and ten of #7 to send to Sticky. If anyone from Melbourne is reading this, you will soon be able to buy copies of #7 and #8 from Sticky so please do so! #6 was available in the past but I’d like to put that issue behind me like I always do a few months after I make them. That’s the problem with making perzines…

 

ANYWAY. Kylar turned out to be really useful as he stapled all the zines for me. (Thank you!) But his collating skills aren’t all that fantastic. (Speaking of collating, I used to have this badge that said “copy, collate, staple” and it was ‘borrowed’ by this kid Tee in high school who didn’t even know what zines were but liked the badge, and I haven’t seen it, or all the others he ‘borrowed’, since.) After Kinko’s we wandered around for a bit, had a classy daytime gutter party, hung around Hyde Park, put up a few of Kylar’s radio show posters (Spirit House, Mondays 10pm, 89.7 FM – did I get that right?), I bought a couple of CDs with money I found left on my bag in the morning (thanks dad!) and then I went to work.

 

I hadn’t been to work in a while but I was nicely relaxed because Kylar is such a thoughtful person. Also, the supervisor I dislike wasn’t there and the girl I was working with was quite nice, albeit an idiot – “I don’t really leave the North Shore much”.

 

By the time I got home it was around 9.30 and I was exhausted. It’s the time spent on trains that kills me.

I just spent about an hour on the phone with Jasmina. I hadn’t talked to her in forever. Was nice.

 

Cassette Kids – We Are (mini album)

Really, really good but after seeing so many of their live shows, a bit of a disappointment… I see this is the direction they want to go in and it is great but I really wish they’d stuck to what they used to do back when I first started listening to them. It was that gritty sort of sound which has now become way too polished. But still, if I disregard what they used to sound like, I can still appreciate that We Are is really good. ‘Techno Dan’ is probably my favourite song. I also really like that they put the lyrics in the sleeve.

 

Warhorse – Gun$ (EP)

I don’t really know much about Warhorse yet and I haven’t seen them live but once at Exquisite Corpse the door dudes gave me a piece of paper with Warhorse written on it and Annie says they’re amazing live. This EP is really fucking good and I look forward to attending one of their gigs. They sound like they’ve grown up on a healthy dose of Iggy Pop and The Cramps. The little Red Eye sticker said “for fans of Brian Jonestown Massacre” but I haven’t listened to them so I wouldn’t know. ‘Skeletor’ is my favourite! “If you have come looking for love, you have come to the wrong fucking place man.”

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. woooo! im so in love with Warhorse. fucking genius.

    Dee

    November 14, 2008 at 6:16 am

  2. Is there any way that you can scan the “We Are” album sleeve for me? I would really appreciate it..I need the lyrics to their songs!!
    Thanks

    Alecia

    January 18, 2009 at 1:41 am


Leave a Reply

