unclean, a libertine

The World According to Ivana Stab

Ivana Stab’s Favourite Sydney Bands, PART 1

with 2 comments

 

I’ve decided to start my Ivana Stab’s Favourite Sydney Bands segment with a band whose gigs I somehow keep missing. It makes me a little sad that I’ve only seen them play three times. I’ve known their music for quite a while and it’s definitely not right that I haven’t been to more of their gigs. They are called The Spirits and they are lovely (formerly known as Chequered Leopards). Thinking about this band brings back good memories – waltzing slowly to their faster songs at Hot Damn with a bunch of other kids I’d never met; insisting on seeing them play before going to a birthday party on the other side of the city to which we ended up being very late and most people had already left so we had to down a lot of vodka very quickly to catch up; seeing The Vignettes play for the first time on the same night and being very impressed; doing the best TEETH interview with them. They make lovely music and they’re nice guys and it’s all dreamy, fireplaces and hugs and I hope I can make it to one of their gigs sometime soon. Listen to their music here and see the TEETH interview here.

Written by Ivana Stab

November 18, 2008 at 1:19 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ooh this is a fab idea!

    deehumidifier

    November 19, 2008 at 5:26 am

  2. Merci! I have a loooooooooong list to write about.

    Ivana Stab

    November 19, 2008 at 6:25 am


Leave a Reply

